EDITORS' REPORT FOR VOLUME 60

We are pleased to report the publication of volume 60 of Madroño by the California Botanical Society (CBS) in 2013. With this volume we are celebrating 100 years of the CBS.

The publication of Madroño remains on schedule with an average time between initial submission and publication of about 8 months. We hope that Madroño continues to be viewed as the best outlet for western botanists to publish their work in a timely fashion, while reaching an interested and relevant audience. This year, all the past issues of Madroño, from volume one on, have become available online through JSTOR. Special thanks are due to JSTOR, especially to Barbara Chin and Katherine Harto, who were extremely helpful in providing PDFs of articles on short notice for the use of the editor and to produce this issue.

The efforts of numerous individuals are critical to the continued quality of the journal. Among these are our Noteworthy Collections editor, Dieter Wilken; Steve Timbrook who has long provided the volume Index and Table of Contents; Annielaurie Seifert at Allen Press; and the CBS executive council. We are also grateful to our contributors for their interesting and insightful manuscripts, and our reviewers who take time from their busy schedules to assess the quality of submitted work.

Dieter Wilken will be resigning after this volume as Noteworthy Collections editor. Dieter served the readers of Madroño in that position for more than 15 years and we are extremely grateful for all his efforts. David Keil of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo will become the next Noteworthy Collections editor. Genevieve Walden is our new editorial assistant and has been doing great work in the position. Finally, Richard Whitkus has been the copy editor for Madroño for the past 5 years. In his time Dr. Whitkus

presided over Madroño's move to an online submission process, and was critical in getting the journal back on schedule. The CBS executive council is extremely grateful for all the work he has done for the journal.

This year we received 26 new manuscripts and 22 were accepted for publication. Several manuscripts were also carried over from the previous year. The 60th volume includes two special issues: Tanoak: ecology, botany, history, and values (guest edited by Susan Frankel of the USDA Forest Service), and this issue that celebrates nearly 100 years of Madroño by reprinting articles by prominent people in the history of California botany as well as seminal and important papers that strongly influenced later botanical work in California.

As Editors, we have enjoyed our interactions with contributors and reviewers this past year and anticipate continued submissions of novel and exciting work.

This volume represents the last one of which I (Whitkus) will be an editor. I have enjoyed the opportunity to work with the California Botanical Society in bringing forward articles and reports of interest to plant professionals and enthusiasts. I have been honored to work with the Board members over the past several years and to have their trust in producing the journal. The two co-editors I worked with, Tim Lowery and Matt Ritter, have been extremely supportive of my quirkiness and tardiness. In truth, I will not miss the work, but I will miss the professional and collegial interactions of everyone who has contributed to the production and distribution of a singular botanical journal.

Matt Ritter Richard Whitkus December 2013

REVIEWERS OF MADROÑO MANUSCRIPTS 2013

Bonnie Heidel

David Ackerly Denny Albert Paul Beardsley Robert Boyd William Buck Rebecca Burt John Callaway Chris Campbell Gerald Carr Kenton Chambers Robert Cox Tom Daniel Mark Darrach David Diamond Lance Evans Kern Ewing Ezequiel Ezcurra Patricia Fall Laurel Fox Naomi Fraga Linda Geiser Robert Graham Timothy Griffith Lisa Grubisha

Christina Hazard

Larry Hufford Kimberly Hunter Christopher Ivey Kathleen Kay David Keil Ron Kelley Kenneth Kellman Anne Kelly Charley Knight Jaun Larrain Peter Lesica Federico Luebert Lucas Majure Don Mansfield Marlon Marchado Jim Mauseth Joseph McAuliffe Kyle Merriam Michael Mesler Kathy Ann Miller Nancy Morin Tom Mulroy Seth Munson Guy Nesom

Robert Patterson Mark Porter Robert Preston Nishanta Rajakaruna Jon Rebman Tony Reznicek Kevin Rice Joe Rocchio Stanley Scher Aaron Sims Larry St. Clair Shannon Still Mark Stromberg John Strother Dean Taylor David Toren Claudia Tyler Oscar Van Auken Michael Vincent David Wagner Dieter Wilken Marti Witter Dorde Woodruff

Jenn Yost